I Have the Coolest Grandma Ever

8 Jan

When anyone hears the word “Grandma” they think of a very old woman sitting on wooden chair eating mashed food and hardly hearing what you’re saying. Well that’s not the case when it comes to MY grandma, this post goes out to her and to show you all how cool my grandma can be ;)

First of all, let me give you a quick brief about her. Shes in her late 60s, she lived most of her life in Kuwait and now living back home alone in a house with her maid. My grandpa passed away almost 10 years ago and since then we feel sorry for her living alone, however, she’s living in an area where both my aunt and uncle and her sister is only 2 minutes away, which is good. We consider my grandma’s house is the family house where everyone gathers every now and then when we go back home.

Now let me tell you about a couple of things that not a lot of grandmas do these days but mine does:

Technology: My grandma changes her cell phone almost every 6 months, he last device was a Nokia touch. She actually text us, call us with no ones help. She recently got a laptop, she uses the internet to check the newspapers and call her daughters and sons on Skype & Viber! She even taught her maid on how to call her daughter back in the Philipines!!! A week ago when I went back home, we sat down and updated her Facebook profile, she didn’t like her previous picture and made sure we put a new one for her! Oh and she has a karaoke machine!

Food: Like most grandma’s, she likes to spoil us with food, I think that’s the only way she can show love, so she makes sure to stuff us with food all the time, whether its breakfast, lunch, dinner or even snacks. Whenever we are sitting down together having a meal, she would be asking us on what to have on our next meal! It’s true that we usually gain 3 kilos whenever we visit, but a part of me tells me that its worth it cuz her food is delicious.

Visitors: She just LOVES them!! whether they are family, neighbours or just total strangers!!! she doesn’t mind anyone coming in, feed them and have a conversation with, the more people she has around the better. A week ago when I was visiting, I had my four cousins (3 of their kids), 2 of my aunts, me and my mum all in her house! she used to love staying all night talking with us till dawn and remembering old stories. She stays up late and wake up early like nothing happened. I have brought my friend with me 3 times already and she’s more than happy to spoil her more than she does to me, its like she’s a family member now which is awesome :)

TV: this is probably something that all grandma’s have in common is that they LOVE watching TV. But whats bad about this is that she’s so into Turkish series that she watches more than 4 in one day WITH the rerun, it gets so annoying sometime but I think that’s probably the highlight of her usual day. She might watch some news in between but I think she got fed up with all the news happening recently so she simply avoid it.

Language: Most grandma’s at this age tend to use their old accent that our generation would find it a bit hard to understand sometimes. With my grandma, she does use some old words, but on the other hand she speaks very good English which impresses me sometimes! her maid didn’t speak one word of Arabic when she arrived, now she communicate with my grandma with Arabic & English and it’s just cool when you hear your grandma saying “prepare the table and put pickles and laban!”

At the end of this post, I wanna thank god for giving me such a cool, loving and caring grandma, its true that’s her highest concern is to get us all married in any possible way, but that doesn’t change the fact that she loves us THAT much :D What about your grandma? do you have any funny stories? please share it with us :)

27 Responses to “I Have the Coolest Grandma Ever”

  1. Cheeky December 9, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    u are a very special grand daughter
    love you lots
    xxx
    she was an amazing lady – and she is alive in your heart always

    Like

    • Moody December 14, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

      Thank you babe, you are the sweetest :*

      Like

  2. Mayy January 18, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    my grandmother spoils me with food too!! she literally asks me if i want to eat something every five minutes! and my grandpa is so into technology he has almost all the android gadgets;p my grandparents are AWESOME! your grandma is really cool!;p allah ykhaleha 7agch(:

    Like

    • Moody January 19, 2012 at 8:20 am #

      thanks sweet of you :)

      Like

  3. whatevermakesyousmile January 11, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

    Sounds like a perfect role model :) Love, love, love the picture!

    Like

    • Moody January 11, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

      if she only doesnt push all the single ladies in the family to get married so hard then yeah she is hehe

      Like

      • whatevermakesyousmile January 11, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

        Haha :-D I prefer that over comments on the way you wear your hair, dress, the way you cook,… Oh well, grandparents… gotta love them ;-)

        Like

        • Moody January 12, 2012 at 9:11 am #

          she would!! cuz thats the way to get married :P

          Like

  4. expatandthecity January 11, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    I miss my Grandmother so much. :( She wasn’t cool but she loved me more than anything on this earth. Don’t get me started on her southern cooking! Damn, so good. Enjoy being with your amazing Grandmother. :)

    Like

  5. themofman January 11, 2012 at 4:24 am #

    Love the image!

    Like

  6. AndreaNadine January 11, 2012 at 1:50 am #

    That’s the kind of grandma I want to be :)
    AndreaNadine

    Like

    • Moody January 11, 2012 at 9:21 am #

      I think all of our generation would be very similar to this, if not worse!

      Like

  7. holycowimforty January 10, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    I’m loving this! It’s wonderful to read about grandfolks having fun. Give her an iPod touch, she’ll probably beat you playing Angry Birds :)

    Like

    • Moody January 11, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      loool u know i never thought of that!! maybe i should make her stop playing solitare and get involved with some real games.

      Like

  8. oakfiling1 January 10, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    Awesome Grandma! Love it!

    Like

    • Moody January 10, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

      like i said, one of a kind :)

      Like

  9. rebelswithoutacause January 10, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    I loved reading this! LOL your Grandmother seems right chill :)

    Like

    • Moody January 10, 2012 at 9:48 am #

      Thanks! ill take that as a compliment :D

      Like

  10. Aarom January 9, 2012 at 4:14 am #

    My Grandma is very Similar. She used to text faster than me, as I will admit sadly.

    Like

    • Moody January 9, 2012 at 11:23 am #

      lool, maybe i should get her a blackberry and see how that goes

      Like

  11. ME January 8, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    shout out to tetaaaa :D

    Like

  12. q8iyadownunder January 8, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    awww allah e5aleha lekom :** she sounds like an amazing women…. one question: can she adopt me  :p

    Like

    • Moody January 8, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

      hehehe i bet she wouldnt mind :P

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. R.I.P Grandma « Moody 'N Cheeky's Blog - December 7, 2012

    […] Almost a year ago also I have made a special post dedicated to her. She was a very special grandma that definitely left a huge space behind. If you care to know more about how great of a person she was, please click on this LINK. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

