Review: Canon 7D + DigitalRev

15 Jan

0H9I7443

A month ago I have finally took a step forward into something I have been wanting to do for such a long time, which is buying a new camera. I have been very much into photography but sadly never had the right equipment nor the time to practice it.

And because there are so many camera options out there, confusion was taking over the idea every time I wanna make a decision. But I have been using Canon for awhile now, so that was definitely my first option. And because cameras and their equipment are too expensive here in Kuwait, I also took a leap of faith and ordered one online through DigitalRev.

digitalrev_com_-460x272

I have read so many good reviews about DigitalRev, actually none of them were negative in any way! The problem is it was my first time to order ANYTHING online, so I was abit scared. However, the process couldn’t be any smoother, I placed the order and received it in a week, just cuz it was held in customs for 2 days, I would have got it in no time.

So what did I order?

Canon 7D

After a lot of research, it was down to Canon 7D and Canon 60D. I didn’t really know what I want at that time, but I was willing to invest into a good camera that would serve me well for a long time. The 5D would be definitely on the list next time, unless something better comes along.

I chose not to take the kit lens (18-55mm) and instead bought the (50mm f/1.4 USM) which is supposed to be good for portraits and gives you a nice depth of field.

Since then, I’ve been happy using my new camera, can’t say much about it cuz I still didn’t use it fully, but I would highly recommend it if you are trying to take your photography skills a step forward, even when it comes to video shooting.

Now what am planning to do is to buy more photography gear that would help me in photo shooting. So far the only place that I found with reasonable prices is AAB where I’ll be heading very soon to get my gear. Do you know any other places that you recommend?

I will be posting some pictures from my new camera, so stay tuned!

5 Responses to “Review: Canon 7D + DigitalRev”

  1. AboOmar January 15, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

    Congratulations ! good choice

    Like

    • Moody January 21, 2013 at 10:49 am #

      Thanks :)

      Like

      • Allan May 3, 2013 at 1:33 am #

        Hi there,I also have taken the plunge and placed my 1st order with DigitalRev. I bought Canon 7D, Canon 100mm is Lseries lens , a Canon 18-200mm is lens and a couple of uv filters.

        I was a bit worried to say the least as I was purchasing over £1600 worth of gear from a company I had never used before.

        What can I say – apart from the fact that I saved over £500 compared to UK prices,the service was second to none,delivery took 3 days ( Hong Kong to my door in Scotland ),no customs charges and well packaged excellent products.

        I upgraded from 60D to 7D and although I havn’t had a lot of time to use it as yet , what I have seen is impressive.Cant wait to get out and about and put it through its paces.

        You asked about other online stores – you might take a look at Camera Paradise,although their prices looked too good to be true.

        Like

        • Moody May 3, 2013 at 11:58 am #

          am glad to hear that their services pleased you as well. I placed another order not long time ago and had the same awesome experience. these people know what they are doing! thanks for sharing :)

          Like

          • Allan May 3, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

            Do you know anyone who has used Camera Paradise as they are ridiculously cheap and it seems too good to be true.they are selling an L series 24 – 105mm lens for £454 and it retails in UK for between £800 – £1000.

            Like

Leave a Reply

