childhood: what’s in a name?

12 May
i wonder what this child is called so that I never name anyone I know that! ;p

i wonder what this child is called so that I never name anyone I know that! ;p

when i was littler, only about 5 or 6, i remember not being very happy with my name..

my real name has arab origins, but i was commonly called by my nickname – incidentally a lot of my extended family didn’t know my official name… and thought my nickname was my actual name

this was all too complicated for me at the young age when i just wanted to feel like i fit in..

what i really wanted to be called was: Shirley!!!!!

i even tried encouraging my parents to change my name – no luck!

now, i believe that names affect your personality – had i been called something like moody – i would have not been so cheeky ;) (tee hee hee – in my head that’s funny ;p – and what a lovely place my head is :D)

back to initial chain of thought – since names have an affect on personality – i believe i would not have made a good shirley… it just has a lot of odd connotations in my head now – from lots of different movies, etc

i.e.
Person 1: surely you can’t be serious?
Person 2: i am serious! and don’t call me shirley!

(no idea where that’s from – but it plays out in my head everytime i think of the name shirley)

so i leave you with the words of shakespeare:

“What’s in a name? that which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet”

8 Responses to “childhood: what’s in a name?”

  1. Moody May 14, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    Superstation used to play that line between commercials, thats i think where you got it from..Shirley!

    Like

    • Cheeky May 14, 2013 at 8:13 pm #

      I WATCH CLASSIC MOVIES WOMAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Like

      • Moody May 14, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

        hahahaha…yeah yeah right

        Like

  2. jennypugh May 12, 2013 at 5:58 pm #

    That Shirley quote is from the 1980 film Airplane, Leslie Nielsen’s character says it. It’s a classic line :)

    Like

    • Cheeky May 12, 2013 at 6:06 pm #

      thanks for that!!!
      i’m too lazy to google – but i really do love that line! ;p

      Like

      • jennypugh May 12, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

        It’s a great film and it has so many quotable lines. I want to watch it again now :)

        Like

        • Cheeky May 12, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

          hehe! i feel that way about casablanca! :)

          Like

          • jennypugh May 19, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

            I have to admit that I haven’t seen Casablanca before, so I have added it to my Lovefilm list :)

            Like

Leave a Reply

