Movie Review: The Lovely Bones

25 Jun

Last night I couldn’t sleep very well, though I was up since 7 am, but still couldn’t close my eyes, so I decided to put a movie on maybe it would help me to fall asleep. “The Lovely bones” was my first choice as I heard so much about it but never really got interested until I saw the trailer. I gotta say that it was a GREAT movie!! Though I was in a bad mood, tired and sleepy, but still it caught my attention and watched it till the end. This movie is a total mix of fantasy, drama, thriller and romance. I usually get annoyed from movies with different genres, but this one was simply PERFECT! I can see this post being too long as I have so much to say about this movie, so let’s start with the story:

It’s about a 14 years old girl who gets murdered by her neighbor who happened to be a serial killer who killed many girls before. Through the whole movie, you hear the girl telling her story after she died, where she’s stuck in a place called the “In between”, and showing the lives of her family members and how they are trying to deal with the tragedy of their missing child.

I know that there’s already a novel for this movie, and for the first time in my life, I watch a movie that I know that it’s a novel, and after it’s done I feel like I need to read the novel too!!! Put in mind that am not a reader and I get bored easily of any book that I may lay my hands on, so this movie was THAT good. This movie has been also nominated for an Oscar and so many other awards, again, it definitely deserved one.  

 

To talk about the acting, now this girl “Saoirse Ronan” is definitely a star!!! This is the first time I see this girl acting and she’s REALLY good!! I personally don’t like Dakota Fanning cuz I think her personality is too old for her, but this one was acting very close to her age, but at the same time she was doing it in a great way!! I really enjoyed her acting.

Mark Wahlberg also stars at this movie as the victim’s father. I used to HATE him and for his acting, I always feel that her over does it sometimes, and he’s kinda weird. But not anymore, in this movie he definitely changed the way I see him as an actor.

All in all, am so glad that I had the time to watch this movie, actually am willing to watch it again!! Let me know if you agree with me or not…

Rating: 4.5/5

 

2 Responses to “Movie Review: The Lovely Bones”

  1. swera June 25, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    Im planning to reaaaaaad the book first then the movie :) heard good reviews bout them too!

    Like

    • Moody Panties June 25, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

      lemme know how it turns out ok :) maybe for once i would buy a book and actually read it !

      Like

Leave a comment